SCW baseball loses sectional game against John Burroughs


Freshman Brenan Goering and senior Dylan Patterson hugging at the baseball jamboree.

Yesterday, the St. Charles West baseball team faced the Class 4 District 5 champions the John Borroughs Bombers in a MSHSAA state matchup.

In the first inning, the Bombers struck first making the score 2-0.  At the bottom of the first, the score was 3-2 with three runs scored by the warriors.  The score would then change to 8-3 with the bombers winning in the third.  Runs were scored by both teams, but the warriors could not pull through with a final score of 14-8, the bombers becoming sectional champions.

Looking back on the accomplishments of the Warriors, their achievements and awards have established a firm foundation for the years to come.  With a back to back district championship, the future is looking bright for future Warriors baseball.

Before the game, the SCW baseball twitter recognized a multitude of players.  In Academic All-GAC, the players recognized were Jacob Blassingame, Jrue Blassingame, Will Mettlach, Kyle Quinn, Josh Newell, Jackson Meers, Justin Caulk, Brady Kilker, Matt Box (North), Barrett Disselhorst, Dylan Patterson, Eli Chowning, Rolen Moore, Brenan Goering, and Dylan Schooler.

For All-GAC North as an infielder, Brenan Goering was recognized for his work at third base this past season.  Additionally, the players recognized for 1st team All-GAC North were Jrue Blassingame (catcher), Karson Quinn (infielder, second base), Kyle Quinn (outfielder, center/left field), Dylan Patterson (utility player, pitcher, infield), Barrett Disselhorst (infielder, first base, utility player), and Josh Newell (pitcher).  Additionally, Jacob Blassingame won the team’s sportsmanship award for the second year of the row, and senior Josh Newell was dubbed GAC North Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.

Congratulations to all who were recognized!